2016 Red River All-Conference Teams announced

D1A Rugby: 2016 Red River All-Conference Teams announced
Photo Credit: Norma Salinas (left)

LAFAYETTE, Colo. – The second year of the Red River Conference witnessed plenty of competitive matches involving hundreds of talented student-athletes.

The 2016 season also saw the league’s newest addition, LSU, claim this year’s Red River title. After going undefeated in its first season in the Southwest’s elite competition for men’s college rugby, it’s no surprise the Tigers lead the way with eight players on the 2016 Red River All-Conference 1st Team.

The All-Conference recipients also includes three players who earned D1A Player of the Week honors: Texas A&M’s Braedon Hood, LSU’s Jeff Mauras and TCU’s Bryce Watson, as well as March’s Red River Player of the Month – LSU’s Christian Brower.

“As a commissioner, it is great for the Red River to showcase so many outstanding rugby players,” said Red River Commissioner and TCU Head Coach TeShay Flowers. “As a coach, it is scary to see all the high-level players that will be returning next season and already has me working on a game plan to try to compete with such a great group.”

1st-Team All-Conference

PropChristian BowerLSUSenior
HookerTyler HawkinsBaylorSenior
PropJavier Davila LopezTexas A&MSenior
LockZach StrattonLSUJunior
LockJacob BrowningTexas A&MJunior
FlankerBrennan FalconLSUSophomore
FlankerBraedan HoodTexas A&MJunior
Number EightTodd DupreeLSUJunior
Scrum HalfDillon ThielTCUSenior
Fly HalfCameron TroxlerLSUSophomore
WingAidan EliasLSUJunior
Inside CenterJon LucasOklahomaSophomore
Outside CenterJeff MaurasLSUSenior
WingWes LabordeLSUSenior
Full BackManny SotoOklahomaSophomore

2nd-Team All-Conference

PropJake HoffmanTexas TechSenior
HookerJoe RuoccoLSUJunior
PropKevin KovacicLSUSenior
LockCollin PullaraTexas
LockLogan BakerOklahomaSophomore
Loose ForwardLogan RonanOklahomaFreshman
Loose ForwardPete HammBaylorJunior
Loose ForwardRobin PersegolOklahomaJunior
Scrum HalfJustin BrownTexas A&MSophomore
Fly HalfDavid WallaceOklahomaJunior
WingWes OttoTexas TechSenior
Inside CenterStewart MorrisBaylorFreshman
Outside CenterMatthew YoungTexas
WingMateo GarciaTexas A&MSenior
Full BackMatthew TheodoreTexas A&MSenior

Honorable Mention Forwards

Jeff WyattTexas TechSenior
Chris GreerOklahomaJunior
Nate PortzBaylorJunior
Zach TriggTCUJunior
Jame McAlpineLSUSenior
Drew KeonTexas A&MJunior
Edd CaballeroTexasJunior

Honorable Mention Backs

Robert FlinnTexas TechFreshman
Tom MurphyOklahomaSenior
Jeffrey ScottBaylorJunior
Brandon TerrellTCUSenior
Trevor O’NeilLSUSophomore
Seth RobinsonTexas A&MFreshman
Carson YoumanTexasJunior