Eleven D1A teams to battle for Men’s DI College 7s National Championship

D1A Rugby: Eleven D1A teams to battle for Men’s DI College 7s National Championship
Photo Credit: JD Black

LAFAYETTE, Colo. – Nearly half of the 24 teams making up the Men’s Division I USA Rugby College 7s National Championship will be representing D1A Rugby May 27-29 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, NC.

Eleven D1A teams earned qualification to the 2016 College 7s National Championships through a tournament victory at an automatic qualifying event, or via an at-large bid based on its 2015-16 sevens resume. Returning to this year’s event are 2015 National Champions, Lindenwood, as well as the team the Lions defeated in last year’s Cup Final – Davenport.

Two other D1A sides that reached the 2015 Cup Quarterfinals are heading to North Carolina, as well. The California Conference’s Saint Mary’s and San Diego State were bounced in the Cup Quarterfinals in Denver last May.

Cal Poly, Iowa, and Texas A&M hope to improve on their 2015 results at College 7s, while Oklahoma will make its first appearance at the Nationals since 2013. The Meanwhile, St. Bonaventure and Wyoming will make their first College 7s stops. The Cowboys upset Utah at the Rocky Mountain 7s to punch its ticket to North Carolina, while the Bonnies have been one of the more dominant sevens side in 2016. Winners of not one or two, but three automatic qualifying events, St. Bonaventure should pose a real threat to any team in the field.

Arkansas, which will join the Red River Conference in the fall, will make its third consecutive appearance at the largest collegiate sevens event of the year.

A preview of the entire Men’s DI field can be read on USARugby.org, and a full National Championship schedule can be found at USACollege7s.com.

Each of the 167 matches of the May 27-29 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship[s will be broadcasted free of charge on The Rugby Channel.