Forty-four players from D1A recognized as All-Americans

D1A Rugby: Forty-four players from D1A recognized as All-Americans
Photo Credit: Kent Miller (left) & Karen Drinkwater (right)

LAFAYETTE, Colo. – USA Rugby announced the Men’s Collegiate All-Americans for the 2015-16 season last week, and the list includes 44 players from D1A Rugby. College 15s National Championship runner-up and College 7s National Champion Saint Mary’s leads all D1A teams with nine selections to this year’s All-Americans.

“It’s a thrill to see so many hardworking student-athletes receive the recognition they deserve,” said D1A Rugby Commissioner Kevin Battle. “These players not only epitomize what it means to be a high performance athlete on the pitch, but an excellent representation of how premier college rugby players should conduct themselves outside the lines, as well.”

Thirteen D1A players return to the All-Americans from last year’s group, and seven players were strong enough in both sevens and 15s to earn All-American recognition in each code: Dylan Audsley (Saint Mary’s), Dominique Bailey (Davenport), Alex Faison-Donahoe (Kutztown), Wesley Hartmann (Kutztown), Vili Helu (Saint Mary’s), Cody Melphy (Life) and Ben Pinkelman (Colorado State).

1st Team 15s

Dylan Audsley – Saint Mary’s
Harley Davidson – Life
Vili Helu – Saint Mary’s
Sebastian Kalm – Lindenwood
Cody Melphy – Life
Dino Waldren – Saint Mary’s

2nd Team 15s

Alec Barton – Saint Mary’s
Bryce Campbell – Indiana
Chad Gough – Utah
Vetekina Malafu – Kutztown
Alex Maughan – Life

Honorable Mention 15s

Malon Al-Jiboori – Lindenwood
Dominique Bailey – Davenport
Jack Bengel – Ohio State
Conor Cudeback – Cal Poly
Keli’i Dominguez – Cal Poly
Alex Faison-Donahoe – Kutztown
Jordan Ghyzel – Kutztown
Wesley Hartmann – Kutztown
Jake Hidalgo – Indiana
Cody Jerabek – Wyoming
Jake Lachina – West Point
Peter Malcolm – Wheeling Jesuit
Aaron Matthews – Saint Mary’s
Eddie McFarland – Cal Poly
Deion Mikesell – Lindenwood
Benjamin Mills – Utah
Kevin O’Connor – Saint Mary’s
Mason Pederson – Arizona
Ben Pinkelman – Colorado State
Gabe Ruflin – Utah
John Spooney – Michigan
John Sullivan – St. Bonaventure
Nathan Sylvia – Cal Poly
Marcus Walsh – Life
Christian Wiessing – Colorado
Chance Wenglewski – Lindenwood
Alex Wormer – Cal Poly
Holden Yungert – Saint Mary’s

1st Team Sevens

Dylan Audsley – Saint Mary’s
Dominique Bailey – Davenport
Mickey Bateman – Lindenwood
Brady Gent – Davenport
Vili Helu – Saint Mary’s
Cody Melphy – Life
Ben Pinkelman – Colorado State
Anthony Welmers – Davenport

2nd Team Sevens

Alex Faison-Donahoe – Kutztown
Wesley Hartmann – Kutztown
Cam Reed – Lindenwood
Kyle Rogers – Arizona