Indiana penalized for eligibility misconduct

D1A Rugby: Indiana penalized for eligibility misconduct

BOULDER, Colo. – Penalties have been handed down to the BTU Champion Indiana University Rugby Football Club after it became apparent that two of its players were not eligible to play in the Big Ten Universities’ Conference and Championship matches, as well as D1A qualifying matches.

Indiana’s rugby program has admitted misconduct regarding the participation of two players who are not students at Indiana University, including the Big Ten Player of the Year. After an appeal process of the BTU Disciplinary Committee’s ruling, the stemming penalties have been upheld by a D1A Appeals Panel.

Both players in question are students at a nearby institution, but Indiana never received formal approval for any Consortium Agreement. A Consortium Agreement allows the inclusion of players from a separate academic institution if the agreement meets with the formal stipulations of the USA Rugby College Eligibility rules and is approved by the USA Rugby Collegiate Eligibility Committee.

The following sanctions have been applied to the Indiana Rugby Football Club:

$     1.     Forfeiture of their 2013 fall league games and revocation of the 2014 BTU Championship Indiana. IU is also not eligible for the 2014 D1A playoffs.

$     2.     IU is to remain ineligible to advance to the BTU Championship game for the 2014 fall season and, therefor, is not eligible to represent the BTU in the 2015 D1A playoffs.

$     3.     A player involved in the disciplinary sanctions has been stripped of his BTU Most Valuable Player award.

$     4.     The D1A Appeals panel overturned IU’s ineligibility for College 7s competition and championship as handed down by the BTU Disciplinary Committee.

After falling to Indiana in the conference championship match, University of Michigan is now awarded the 2013 Big Ten Universities Conference Championship.