Over half of College All-Americans at ID Camp represent D1A Rugby

D1A Rugby: Over half of College All-Americans at ID Camp represent D1A Rugby
Photo Credit: West Point Athletics (left), Steve Zomberg (right) & Ron Raff Photography (homepage)

LAFAYETTE, Colo. – Thirty-three of the 57 AIG Men’s Collegiate All-American hopefuls attending the Jan. 14-16 identification camp in Chula Vista, Calif. come from D1A Rugby. Players already proven at the Collegiate All-American level were not invited to camp, and will still be under consideration for selection to tour Australia as a member of the All-Americans in August.

“The All-American staff is very excited to work with this group of collegiate rugby players,” said MCAA Head Coach Gavin Hickie. “We are getting to work first-hand with 57 more student-athletes this year than we did a year ago. The students represent 33 different colleges, and this will provide us with an accurate picture of where our domestic skill levels currently stand.”

Three All-Conference performers out of the West, including Back of the Year Mitch Cochell of Air Force, have been called on by Hickie and his staff. Meanwhile, six Rugby East All-Conference standouts will be in Chula Vista, including Iona center and Back of the year Michael Scarcella.

D1A Players Attending Jan. 14-16 MCAA ID Camp:

Christian Artuso – St. Bonaventure
Dominique Bailey – Davenport
Max Berry – Wyoming
Andrew Boatright – Davenport
Matt Brennan – Arizona State
Dylan Brown – Air Force
Thomas Cheslek – Davenport
Mitchell Cochell – Air Force
Connor Cudeback – Cal Poly
Harley Davidson – Life
Nick Feakes – Lindenwood
Brady Gent – Davenport
Toma Ghattas – Lindenwood
Michael Gieselman – Michigan State
Jake Glass – Kutztown
Colton Grantham – Oklahoma
Terrence Hellander – Wyoming
Jake Hidalgo – Indiana
Maciu Koroi – Life
Jake Lachina – Army
Connor Marsh – Indiana
Hugh McAllister – Wheeling Jesuit
Selby Niumataiwalu – Penn State
Dominic Rufran – Wyoming
Michael Scarcella – Iona
Tyler Sousley – Indiana
Nathan Sylvia – Cal Poly
Teddy Terezis – Indiana
Duncan Van Schalkwyk – Life
Blace Walser – Arkansas State
Alexander Walsh – Arizona State
Alex Wormer – Cal Poly
Zachary Young – Arkansas State