PAC Announces Their All Conference Teams

D1A Rugby: PAC Announces Their All Conference Teams
Photo Credit: Alex Ho

The PAC Rugby conference has confirmed the selection their choices for their All-Conference teams for the 2018 season. It follows a slightly different structure than the traditional all-conference teams, as the coaches selected the most impactful players throughout the conference regardless of position. This is to say that there are some positions that may appear to be over represented and others under represented; this was by design.

Total selections from each program were determined by where each team finished in the standings. For example, Cal, who won the conference had five players selected in each team, Arizona who finished second had four and so it continues.

From the already outstanding crowd two players from Cal and Arizona stood above the rest. Kevin Sullivan, the prop from Cal, and Kyle Rogers, Arizona’s fullback, were both selected as Co-MVPs for the season. Sullivan, a prop, was dominant in scrums and in general play, often laying a platform from which they could attack. Whether it was from ball running, tackling or just a solid push in the scrum, he was critical in setting up  their potent attack. Rogers, similarly, for Arizona was their ignition in attack, terrorizing teams for most of the season at fullback. Rogers possessed an innate ability to counter attack with ease and inject himself in the timeliest of manners to the backline and help split opposition defensive alignments wide open.

Another standout performer in the PAC came from Freshman of the year Benjamin Broselle From UCLA. Broselle  was electrifying on the wing all season long, and showed a knack for finding his way over the line. By the end of the season he had been able to bring his tally to four tries and as he continues over the next three years that number will continue to grow rapidly.

Below is a full list of the PAC All-Conference Teams:

PAC Rugby – All Conference 1st Team

Benjamin BroselleUCLA 
Sam CusanoCalifornia
Troy LockyearCalifornia
Caleb MeyerUtah
Nic MirhashemCalifornia
Eric Naposki – AbdalahUCLA
Patrick ReganUCLA
Thomas RoblesCalifornia
Kyle RogersArizona
Matt RogersArizona
Gabe RuflinUtah
Kevin Sullivan California
Bronson TelesArizona
Alex WalshArizona State
Dante WeeksArizona

PAC Rugby – All Conference 2nd Team

Andrew AlexUCLA
Keanu AndradeCalifornia
Sebastian BaderCalifornia
Liam BradyArizona State
Ben CaseyCalifornia
Sinclair ClintonArizona
Sean ColemanArizona
Justin DunnCalifornia
Will FrantzUtah
Patrick FrenchUCLA
Ryan Hudson Arizona
Yanick MendesUCLA 
Tom MolloyArizona
Kelsin PupunuUtah
Thomas SpradlingCalifornia

PAC Rugby – All Conference Honorable Mention

Matt Brennan Arizona State
James FrancisUCLA
Anton GrigoriouArizona
Zach HeisterkampArizona
Benjamin JosephArizona
Dallas SauerArizona State

PAC Rugby Conference – MVP (Co-Winners)
Kyle Rogers – Arizona
Kevin Sullivan – California

PAC Rugby Conference – Freshman of the Year
Benjamin Broselle – UCLA