Saint Mary’s College to host D1A Final

D1A Rugby: Saint Mary’s College to host D1A Final
Photo Credit: Karen Drinkwater

BOULDER, Colo. – The 2016 D1A Rugby National Championship will be held May 7 on the campus of Saint Mary’s College in Moraga, Calif.

In conjunction with the 2016 USA Rugby College 15s National Championships, which with include title matches in the Men’s D1AA, Women’s D1 Elite, DI and DII divisions, the D1A Final will be the headlining event.

“This year’s Championships will feature some of the finest competition in collegiate rugby,” USA Rugby Collegiate Director Rich Cortez said. “All of the teams will have fought their way through competitive leagues and playoffs to reach the Finals. We look forward to featuring the College 15s National Championships in the Bay Area, where many of our most prominent rugby athletes have originated.”

2014 renovations of Saint Mary’s onetime football field have produced one of the finest settings for rugby in the country. Saint Mary’s Stadium is lined with a full-sized rugby field and has seating for 5,500 attendees.

“Saint Mary’s College of California is honored to host the USA Rugby 2016 College 15s National Championships,” Saint Mary’s Associate Athletic Director Marty Storti said. “We have a long and proud rugby tradition that dates back to 1888. Over the years we have hosted international teams and the best club and college teams this country has to offer.

“Saint Mary’s Stadium is the perfect venue to host such a prestigious day of rugby. The bucolic setting, coupled with the hotbed of club, high school, and college rugby in the San Francisco Bay Area, will undoubtedly bring fans in droves to be part of this great day.”

A kickoff time for the D1A Final has yet to be determined, but the match will air live on ESPN’s family of networks.

A 12-team field will be whittled down to two D1A National Championship finalists after three consecutive weeks of playoff rugby.

2016 D1A Rugby Playoff Schedule:
April 16 – Round One*
April 23 – Quarterfinals*
April 30 – Semifinals*
May 7 – National Championship Final

* Higher seed and/or conference champion hosts