Teams for D1A 7s National Championship Announced

D1A Rugby: Teams for D1A 7s National Championship Announced
Photo Credit: Travis Prior

D1A has finalized 15 of the 16 teams to participate in the D1A division of the 2019 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship. Headlining the group are, returning National Champions, Lindenwood University and hosts the University of Arizona. The final spot will go to an at large team, which the executive committee is deciding. The D1A 7s National Championship will be played at the Kino Sports Complex memorial Day Weekend, May 24-25.

The National Championships will be available to watch, Live on FloRugby. With tickets available here.

Lindenwood returns to the tournament, having won the D1 title in the previous two tournaments. Joining them from the Mid-South will be Davenport University. Making their first appearance since 2017.

Posing a threat to Lindenwood’s chances of a three-peat will be the likes of traditionally excellent 7s programs including: Arizona, Notre Dame College and Grand Canyon University. Each of these teams have compiled impressive 7s seasons, throughout the fall and Spring and in previous years proven to be legitimate title contenders.

Joining the fray, will be the likes of Northeastern, Ohio State and Arkansas who qualified after winning their conference 7s tournaments.

Seeding and pools will be announced shortly.

Play for the D1A competition commences on Friday May 24 and will conclude on Saturday May 25.

A full list of teams competing is below:

Cal Poly
Central Washington
Grand Canyon
Notre Dame College
Ohio State