Texas A&M claims first of three Red River 7s events

D1A Rugby: Texas A&M claims first of three Red River 7s events

BOULDER, Colo. – The Red River Conference held its first of three fall sevens tournaments Sept. 3, and Texas A&M went undefeated on its way to a Cup Final win over Texas.

“The tournament was outstanding,” exclaimed TCU Head Coach and Red River Commissioner TeShay Flowers. “The conference is extremely evenly matched.”

Hosted by Baylor, the first of two tournaments to decide seeding for the Nov. 7 Red River Conference 7s Championship was tight, indeed. Texas needed a try at full time against TCU to reach the Final. In the tournament-deciding match between the Aggies and Longhorns, the score was even after 14 minutes, but Texas A&M stood tall with a tournament-winning try in overtime.

“I believe the boys took their opportunities when they presented themselves,” said new A&M Head Coach James Lowrey. “They also played for each other. Those were the keys to the day.”

Lowrey expressed that his squad still has improvements to make in terms of fitness, but was happy with the team’s overall performance – especially from Ky Nguyen.

“He was strong and is growing as a player with every game,” A&M’s new lead man stated. “I’m very excited about his progress.”

The Bears of Baylor topped Texas Tech for fifth place in another game that went to the wire, 21-20. Oklahoma, which went 2-2 on the afternoon, is young but talented. Their size and strength impressed opposing coaches, and an improved Sooners side could make a run at a future tournament.

LSU, unfortunately, is not able to compete in the series of Red River 7s tournaments due to the distance required to travel for the events. The 19th-ranked Tigers, instead, are focusing on 15s this fall.

The next Red River Conference 7s tournament will be Oct. 17 in Lubbock, Texas, before a conference champion is crowned at the third and final event on the campus of TCU Nov. 7.

Red River Conference 7s Round 1 Results:

  1) Texas A&M (4-0)
  2) Texas (3-1)
  3) TCU (3-1)
  4) Oklahoma (2-2)
  5) Baylor (2-2)
  6) Texas Tech (1-3)