Thirty-one D1A Rugby players earn MJAA camp invite

D1A Rugby: Thirty-one D1A Rugby players earn MJAA camp invite

LAFAYETTE, Colo. – Over a dozen of D1A Rugby’s up and coming stars will attend either the West or Central AIG Men’s Junior All-American Evaluation Camp. The West Camp will be held Dec. 9-11 at California State University, Maritime Academy, in Vallejo, Calif., and the Central camp will be the following weekend in Casa Grande, Ariz.

Eighteen D1A Rugby student-athletes from the under-20 ranks already attended a Dec. 2-4 Junior All-American camp at Life University. The East Camp assessed five players from both Life and Kutztown, including Golden Bear and Rugby East Freshman of the Year Jackson Clark.

“The three ID camps are completely standardized to allow for transparency across the board for the external coaches to be able to analyze and compare,” said Men’s Junior All-American Head Coach JD Stephenson. “We have been fortunate enough to have a great input from the Eagles coaching staff, in terms of content, session plans and tactical periodization of the weekend. The terminology, look and feel of these ID camps are for our young players to emulate the Eagles and to facilitate an easier transition upward.” 

Attending Central or West Camp:
Lonnie Buchanon – Illinois
Kupa Madzima – Minnesota
Antonios Grigoriou – Arizona
Lewis Grassie – Arizona State
Zach Biggs – Arizona
William Nelson – Santa Clara
Cutler Pons – Sacramento State
Bailey Stringer – Arizona State
Jacob Jorstad – San Diego State

Invited to Central or West Camp:
Christian Bernard – UCLA
Cristian Rodriguez – Lindenwood
Steven Branham – Arizona
Grayson Jones – Colorado

East Camp Attendees:
Andrew Baldado – Ohio State
Jackson Clark – Kutztown
Kyle Crawford – Penn State
Jordan Crofts – Penn State
Jamie Demers – Michigan
Michael Earley – Kutztown
Jacob Estes – Kutztown
Joseph Freeman – Penn State
Aaron Gray – Kutztown
Ryan Hercules – Life
Justin Johnson – Life
Eamonn Matthews – St. Bonaventure
Karem Odeh – Life
Nicholas Taylor – Lindenwood
Joseph Thatcher – Kutztown
Daemon Torres – Life
Harley Wheeler – Life
Jaret Williamson – St. Bonaventure