Thirty-One D1A Selected to Honorary All American Collegiate Sevens Sides

D1A Rugby: Thirty-One D1A Selected to Honorary All American Collegiate Sevens Sides
Photo Credit: Travis Prior
Lafayette, CO.- Earlier this week USA Rugby released the selections for the 2018 Men’s Collegiate All-American Sevens teams, within the selected teams there were a total of 31 D1A athletes selected. 

These selections are a reflection of the performances that each one of these individuals has put in for his team during the most recent college 7s season. Making this team is no easy feat, and the selection process to whittle down the player pool into this preliminary list was meticulous, to say the least.

The players selected into these squads are done so as recognition for their outstanding performances over the course of this season. This list is just the start of a busy summer for the MCAA7s program. Another selection for the MCAA 7s side to play at the RugbyTown USA 7s will come later this summer. Head Coach Steve Lewis noted, “From this list will be selected an extended squad who will go on to represent the USAR MCAA’s at the prestigious RugbyTown 7’s in Glendale in late August.”

The MCAA program has given a start to some of the most prominent figures in the Men’s national teams, players such as; Madison Hughes, Danny Barrett, and Ben Pinkelman. Lewis is excited at the prospect adding more names to that list, “Coach Macy and I look forward to preparing that team and allowing the nation’s best collegiate players to compete at the top level putting their hands up for full USA honors. The program has seen numerous players graduate “up” over the years and I am confident this year will be no different.”

Lindenwood was represented the best out of all the schools having a total of six players from their squad selected. Not too far behind them were Cal who had a total of four players selected. In total there were fifteen programs represented in the selections and seven of those programs saw at least two players selected.
RugbyTown 7s will be played from August 25-27 in Glendale CO, and will pit the best 7s programs from America and beyond against one another. Last year, the All-Americans won the bowl while a development side from Fiji boasting several Olympians took home the cup.

The group of D1A players to receive honorary awards can be found below:

1st Team 

Ben BroselleUCLA
Mike  DabulasPenn State
Justin DunnCalifornia
Nick FeakesLindenwood 
Jake Lachina Army
Troy LockyearCalifornia 
Connor McNearyNavy
Eric NaposkiUCLA
Dmontae Noble Kutztown 
Lorenzo ThomasLindenwood
Duncan Van Schalkwyk Life
Harley WheelerLife

Second Team

Cian BarryUCLA 
Sam Cusano California
Alex DorrierIndiana 
Philip Dalke Navy
Mike EifePenn State 
Deion MikesellLindenwood
Cristian RodriguezLindenwood
Michael Scarcella Iona 
Chris Schoeman Lindenwood
Mitch WilsonLife

Honorable Mention

JP AguirreLindenwood
Keegan Barnes Kutztown
Tyler CrassWisconsin 
Kyle Rogers Arizona
Tyler Sousley Indiana 
Austin TaefuGrand Canyon 
Zachary TavennerCalifornia 
Marcus Tupuola Notre Dame College
Cole Zarcone Central Washington